Broccoli and Edamame Soup with Turkey Bacon and White Cheddar

You know how I love soups. I usually try to avoid them during the hot months of summer, but I was really craving something warm and comforting this past weekend and just HAD to have some tasty and filling broccoli soup. Now, I wouldn’t go as far as to say that this is better than my Dangerous Broccoli and Cheese Soup, but that has processed cheese, so it’s a given that it will be delicious. This soup was tasty as well, but much healthier than my other broccoli soup, as it packed more vegetables and had less chemical ingredients. Additionally, I also subbed turkey bacon, which made it lighter on the calories as well.

I originally got this recipe from my Food Network Magazine. I like the Food Network, but you have to watch out, since they are not nearly as health-conscious as Cooking Light or Eating Well.

2 slices turkey bacon
1 bunch green onions, chopped
1 stalk celery, chopped
2.5 tbsp. flour (I used whole-wheat, it was all I had!)
1 head broccoli, florets chopped
2 c. chicken broth
Salt & Pepper
1 c. shelled edamame
1/2 c. half and half
1 c. shredded white cheddar cheese

First, cook the turkey bacon in a large Dutch oven over medium-high heat until it is nice and crispy, around 5-8 minutes. Chop or crumble and set aside.

Next, add the green onions and celery to the bacon drippings and cook until slightly softened, around 2 minutes. Sprinkle the flour over the veggies and cook, stirring, or until incorporated. Then add the broccoli, chicken broth, 3 cups of water, and some salt & pepper. Increase the heat to high and bring the mixture to a boil. Once boiling, add the edamame, reduce the heat to medium low and simmer until slightly thickened, around 10-12 minutes.

photo (21)Next, using your immersion blender, puree the soup in the pot until it’s nice and smooth. Stir in the half-and-half and simmer for an additional 5 minutes. Now, the original recipe calls for 3/4 cup half-and-half, so go crazy if you would like. I decreased our amount to 1/2 cup, to make it a little easier on our waistlines. It was still super creamy and delicious, I didn’t even notice the missing 1/4 cup!

Lastly, add the cheese and continue to cook, stirring, until the soup thickens and the cheese has melted, around 5 more minutes. Season with some more salt and pepper and serve topped with the crumbled turkey bacon.

This was seriously tasty. It didn’t take me too long to whip together and I didn’t feel guilty eating it like I do some other of my favorite soup recipes. Enjoy!

Leave a comment