Buffalo Chicken Salad

I’m baaaaaaack!!!! After a long hiatus from cooking, Christmas break is over and I’m back in the kitchen!

Today was my last first day of school, only one semester left until law school is FINALLY over! I celebrated my first day back with a delicious chicken salad recipe from Eating Well magazine. Joe really liked this salad, but he LOVES blue cheese. It was definitely tasty although next time I might add some different vegetables like green peppers or cucumbers.

Your favorite blue cheese salad dressing
2 t. red wine vinegar
1/4 t. freshly ground pepper
1 lb. chicken breast, cut into 3/4-inch pieces
2 tbsp. flour
2 tbsp. olive oil
2 tbsp. hot sauce (I always use Frank’s Red Hot, it’s delicious)
8 c. choppsed romaine lettuce
3 large carrots, chopped
3 large celery stalks, chopped
Blue Cheese, crumbled

First, place the chopped chicken pieces in a plastic baggie with the flour and pepper, zip up the bag, and shake to combine.

photo 2

Then, heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat until very hot. Add the chicken and cook, turning occasionally, until just cooked through (7-8 minutes). Combine the hot sauce and the 2 t. vinegar and add the mixture to the chicken, turning to coat the chicken. Cook the chicken for another minute or so, I turned down the heat to medium-low and let the chicken simmer in the sauce for a bit while I prepared the rest of the salad.

Lastly, combine the lettuce, carrots, and celery in a large bowl, add your blue cheese dressing and toss to coat. Divide the salad among yoru plates and top each with an equal portion of chicken and 1 tablespoon each of blue cheese.

photo 1

Simple, fast, and delicious! My favorite combination.

This recipe makes around 4 servings at 290 calories a serving.

Leave a comment