Strawberry and Prosciutto Salad

Salads Salads Salads! Not just my New Year’s resolution. I LOVE salads. I found this one in Health magazine and it was super tasty.

I also need to give a shout out to one of my favorite people— Miss KB, living all the way over in Singapore, sent me these lovely white dishes for Christmas. I have to say, they make a much better showcase for my dishes than the old Goodwill dishes I had before! I’m moving up in life! (Thanks to a little help from my friends!)

2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar
1 1/2 t. honey
1 tbsp. olive oil
1/4 t. salt
1/2 t. pepper
1 1/2 c. strawberries, quartered
1/3 c. sliced red onion
Cooking Spray
4 thin slices of prosciutto (2 ounces)
6 c. baby arugula, spinach, or whatever you have
2 ounces feta or goat cheese, crumbled

Whisk together the first five ingredients (through pepper) in a large serving bowl. Add the strawberries and red onion and let stand for 15 minutes (to soak up the delicious dressing).

While the onion and berries are soaking, coat a skillet with cooking spray, and heat over medium-high heat. Add the prosciutto and cook in one layer, turning, for about 5 minutes or until crispy. Remove from heat, crumble, and set aside.


photo 2

Place your lettuce (I used romaine) and cheese into the serving bowl with the strawberries, onion, and dressing, and toss to combine. Divide the salad among 4 plates and top each with the cooked prosciutto.

photo 1

With only 155 calories per serving, Joe and I had two servings each! (We left out the cheese though).

One thought on “Strawberry and Prosciutto Salad

  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a comment